Amanda Hunter Photography Blog – Tallahassee, Florida
Photography Studio Tallahassee

What To Expect During a Cake Smash Session at AHP in Tallahassee!

Congrats! Your little one is turning ONE! Now you have to find a photographer in Tallahassee… hopefully that’s me! Let me walk you through the process of the crazy, fun, exciting CAKE SMASH!

So from the time you book I am constantly brain-storming with the ideas you give me. For a lot of sessions, the parents might only have a few colors or a single outfit that they want incorporated. For this particular session, mom sent me a picture of the romper she bought and said there was a pennant flag on the birthday invites she had already sent out. PERFECT! That’s all I need for inspiration. All throughout the process I would send mom pictures of various ideas and things I had made for the shoot, making sure she was happy with everything. Thankfully she was just as excited as me!

Now, with the Cake Smash Package you have the choice of bringing your own cake or having me make one for you. My cakes are 3 layers and 10 inches round and come in a single basic color. We, of course, ask about allergies and food intolerances. If there is any concern, I ask that you provide the cake.

So let’s DIG IN!

You might be a little hesitant at first, asking, “Will my child even LIKE the cake? Will they make a huge mess? Will my child not make ANY mess at all?

Tallahassee Photographer

You want me to do what?!?!

Don’t worry moms and dads! I have two kids of my own so I pride myself on calming, reassuring and making it a fun, happy environment for my little pals. I always start with basic portraits. These are perfect for birthday invites, thank you’s, or a large sized poster at the party for everyone to sign! Usually during this part, he/she will warm up to me and give me lots of great smiles and show us some personality!

Child Birthday Portrait

Photographer in Tallahassee

Photography Studio Tallahassee

Once the regular portraits are finished, we bring in the cake by itself. Sometimes the child will have an outfit change before the cake. This is the perfect time to get a shot of just the cake before the demolition.

Birthday Cake Picture Tallahassee

This is the fun part… šŸ™‚ Now it’s time to introduce the birthday girl/boy to the deliciousness know as CAKE!

Birthday Pictures Tallahassee

Now sometimes baby isn’t at all interested in the cake. Sometimes they dive in head first. Sometimes it’s somewhere in between the two šŸ™‚ But whatever the case is with YOUR child, they’ll be your memories to have forever. But rarely do they not get at least a LITTLE bit messy…

Tallahassee First Birthday Pictures

First Birthday Cake Photography

Once the little one has had his/her fill, I usually will get a shot of the mess! Little Palmer did an admirable job with her cake!

Tallahassee Cake Smash

All finished!

Then comes the clean up. But NEVER FEAR! When you have your session at AHP studio, the only cleaning up to do is your little one! The rest is all me. You get to head home and wait on pins and needles for your gallery to be finished! This process is usually 1 to 2 weeks, but if you have a deadline for invites, I can expedite your processes! Just let me know!

To book your session, just call me at 813-210-2236, email me at amanda.hunter17@hotmail.com, find me at www.amandahunterphoto.com, or follow me at www.facebook.com/amandahunterphoto

This entry was published on April 5, 2015 at 9:23 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “What To Expect During a Cake Smash Session at AHP in Tallahassee!

  1. Pingback: Max’s Cake Smash – Tallahassee Child Photographer | Amanda Hunter Photography Blog - Tallahassee, Florida

Leave a comment